Dress me as an English garden

The weather is getting warmer in New England – other than the cold front predicted for tomorrow, it’s been been drifting upward of 50 degrees lately. This tease can make any sane person ready for the sunshine and flowers of Spring and my wardrobe is in desperate need of the pick me up. J. Crew has it right on the money for bringing the cheer of florals into your fashion for Spring 2010. But be wary, when it comes to florals, you have to tread lightly. In my opinion there are too many florescent and gaudy ones in the fashion world but the designers at J. Crew have handled this beautifully, adopting a more English garden aesthetic with rich organic colors and Liberty-esq prints. The collection reminds me off Mrs. Ramphius and her gorgeously hued lupins in one of my favorite childhood books.

I like to toughen up my florals a little when I wear them. As mentioned before, I have an aversion to anything too overtly flirty.  Pair them with a boy’s blazer, desert boots, chunkier jewelry, a tough field jacket or boyfriend jeans. But remember, wear them as you like them, because in the end florals in your wardrobe are there to get you out of the dreary N’East winter with a bit of a smile on your face.

Leave a comment

Filed under Style

Leave a Reply

