angela adams

One of the things I look forward to most when visiting my boyfriend’s family in Boothbay, ME are the angela adams rugs that cover the wooden floors of their old sea captain’s house. His mother has been collecting angela adams rugs for years and walking through their gorgeous home you can’t help but stop and take a moment to wiggle your toes in the soft patches of hand tufted wool. Their organic swirls and geometric shapes create the most beautiful landscapes reminiscent of the rugged Maine coast and its rich woodlands.

On a recent trip to Portland, I had the opportunity to stop by angela adams on Congress Street. Nanette Tanner  (the company’s brilliant Public Relations Manager) gave me a tour of the showroom and chatted with me about the fall collection and their stunning couture line, which literally took my breath away with its effervescent designs and colors. The photos barely give these works of art justice.

Angela Adams and her furniture designer husband Sherwood Hamill started angela adams in 1998. Since then they have been busy creating contemporary furniture and home goods with a distinct Maine aesthetic and perspective. Adams’ island upbringing is a great inspiration for her, recognizable in the natural textures, colors and patterns that appear throughout her designs. The company continues to grow at an exciting pace with a recent collaboration with J.Crew and fellow Maine company Sea Bags and a collection for Anthropologie. They have also launched their upholstered furniture collection; a beautiful selection of couches and chairs with Adam’s signature bold patterns.

If you are looking to start your own angela adams collection, I highly recommend that you make the trip to the showroom. The pieces come alive when you see them in person and you will receive the best attention and assistance from the angela adams team.

My special thanks to Nan and Lilly for helping me during my visit!

6 Comments

Filed under Style

6 responses to “angela adams

  1. chalice

    rad rugs!

  2. I love the use of shapes and color! Thank you for introducing me to Angela Adam’s work. Fantastic!

  3. big props to AA and to Portland in general! great post!

  4. OMG! I die for the deer rug and the ocean rug. Written from my red triangle AA rug 🙂

Leave a Reply

