Summer Style: Idgie Threadgood

Along with pretty much everyone else out there, I’m pretty stoked that the days are getting longer and warmer. I’ve been packing up my cozy sweaters one by one to hibernate at the back of my closet until the fall. At the same time, I was pulling out my summer wardrobe and realed, damn, stuff isn’t looking so good. Fall is my favorite time of year.  Not only for the crisp cool air and pumpkins and all that jazz, but I love the wardrobe. In reorganizing my closet I realized my summer wardrobe was pretty bare bones in comparison. Not only is it incredibly minimal (and not in a good way), it’s been worn and torn and due for retirement (otherwise known as The Goodwill). Getting to the point, I thought it would be fun to do a series of posts on summer style inspirations from film characters and women of history and modern day that have amazing Spring/Summer style. First up is Mary Stuart Masterson as Idgie Threadgood in Fried Green Tomatoes. I saw the movie for the first time last month and really dug Idgie’s tomboy wardrobe of loose pants and shorts cinched at the waist with a leather belt, breezy white blouses, straw hats, dungarees, and handkerchief headbands. The shots above don’t really do it justice, but they were the best I could find. I recommend just watching the movie to get a real sense of her fuss free look.

Leave a comment

Filed under Style

Leave a Reply

